ASPA Events

Upcoming events

Past events

Eight Investments That Work for Physical Activity

ISPAH’s #8Investments are a call to action for everyone, everywhere, including professionals, academics, civil society and decision makers, to embed physical activity in national and sub-national policies.

Too few people around the world are physically active enough to reap the public health, wealth, and wellbeing benefits. As a result, everyone everywhere must unite around a shared goal to get the world moving. A key tenant for successful advocacy is gaining consensus on what works for increasing physical activity and the recent launch of the International Society for Physical Activity and Health (ISPAH) Eight Investments that work for Physical Activity is the answer.

The Eight Investments that work for Physical Activity document and resource kit were launched in November 2020 and provide a summary of eight areas for action, all evidence based and have worldwide applicability.

This webinar provided a synthesis of the evidence behind the 8 Investments, discussing the process of its development, diving deep into each of the 8 Investments and critically exploring how the ASPA community can be advocates.

Session outcomes
• What are the 8 Investments and the background to the tool developments
• A summary of best practice across the 8 Investments.
• Key recommendations for increasing population physical activity
• What is advocacy, the levels of advocacy and practical skills for being an advocate

Key Information
• Description of the 8 Investments, its background , development process and tool aims.
• Summary of best practice evidence across the 8 Investments.
• Key recommendations for policymakers, practitioners and academics.
• Background review of PA advocacy – what it is and the different levels.

In case you missed the event please check out the recording below:

Physical Activity Debate

It’s time to come together, to have some fun and talk about what really matters! We are bringing together great minds working in the field of physical activity across Australasia for the inaugural ‘Physical Activity Debate’ at 3 pm (AEST) on the 27th May, 2021. The debate topic is: “A 15% reduction in physical inactivity will be achieved in Australasia by 2030”. The topic refers to the global target in the World Health Organisation’s Global Action Plan on Physical Activity 2018-2030. Two teams (Affirmative and Negative) will use their expertise, charisma, and sharp rebuttals to persuade you that their team is correct. Debates a healthy part of the science and practice of physical activity.

 

ASPA Promotion-Online Forum in Southeast Asia

With the aim of supporting the promotion of ASPA in Asian regions and increasing regional membership and participation, All are welcome on Wednesday 26th May 2021!
Times:  4:30 pm – 5:15 pm (AEST) 3:30 pm – 4:15 pm (JST) 2:30 pm – 3:15 pm (HKT) 12:00 pm – 12:45 pm (IST)
Guest Speakers: 
Jo Salmon, PhD
ASPA President
Professor, Deakin University, Australia
Verity Cleland, PhD
Chair of ASPA Membership Committee
Associate Professor, University of Tasmania, Australia
Yanping Duan, PhD
Chair of ASPA SE Asia Committee
Assistant Professor, Hong Kong Baptist University, Hong Kong, China

Agenda
1. Welcome by Yanping Duan
2. Introduction to the ASPA
3. ASPA membership and registration
4. Introduction to the ASPA SE Asia committee

Special Interests Groups (SIG) launch event

To celebrate the launch of our Special Interests Groups (SIG) we introduced our the Scaling up Physical Activity #ASPASUPASIG & the Physical Literacy #ASPAPLSIG on Friday 16 April at 3pm NZST/1pm AEST/11am CST.

In case you missed the event please check out the recording below:

2021 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The Annual General Meeting (AGM) of The Australasian Society for Physical Activity Ltd (ASPA), (ACN 635 761 527) was held on Thursday 25 March 2021. 

For a recording of the session, please follow the link to our YouTube channel below: