ASPA Conference 2021

Conference Overview

19th November 2021

ASPA is proud to hold its inaugural conference, Friday 19th November 2021, in a hybrid format. Join us at one of our venues in Auckland, Newcastle and Melbourne or virtually via Zoom Webinar. This forum will bring together researchers, practitioners, and policymakers to share expertise in the advancement of the field of physical activity. 

The conference program includes three sessions. Each session will be live-streamed via Zoom Webinar from one of our three venues. 

Built Environment – live-streamed from our Auckland venue
Mental Health – live-streamed from our Newcastle venue
Implementation – live-streamed from our Melbourne venue 

Each session will include presentations from a panel of researchers, practitioners, and policymakers, followed by a plenary discussion. E-Presentation sessions will take place during breaks between sessions to enable scientific and information exchange. 

This conference will provide a forum for researchers, practitioners and policymakers to advocate, network, build capacity, share expertise and experiences, and hear about the latest research and practice in physical activity in Australasia.

CLICK HERE to register!

Date:

Friday 19th November

8:30 am – 3:00 pm AEDT (Melbourne, New South Wales)

10:30 am – 5:00 pm NZDT (Auckland)

Venues:

Virtual Zoom Webinar

AUT South Campus, Auckland University of Technology, Manukau, Auckland

Newcastle City Campus, University of Newcastle, Newcastle, New South Wales

Deakin Downtown, Deakin University, Melbourne, Victoria

 

Program Overview

Opening: 8:30am AEDT; 10:30am NZDTConference Opening: Live streamed from Melbourne.
Session 1: 9:00am AEDT; 11:00am NZDTBuilt Environment: Live streamed from Auckland. Harnessing community voice to enhance the built environment for physical activity
Break 1: 10:20am AEDT; 12:20pm NZDTBreak for morning tea/lunch. E-Presentations and in-person discussion
Session 2: 11:00am AEDT; 1:00pm NZDTMental Health: Live streamed from Newcastle. Vulnerable populations, challenges and opportunities for improving mental health through physical activity
Break 2: 12:20 pm AEDT; 2:20 pm NZDT Break for lunch/afternoon tea. E-Presentations and in-person discussion
Session 3: 1:00 pm AEDT; 3:00 pm NZDT Implementation: Live streamed from Melbourne. Systems approaches to physical activity: How it applies to implementation, scale-up and policy development in Australia
Closing: 2:20 pm AEDT; 4:20 pm NZDT. Conference closing: Live streamed from Melbourne.
Finish: 3:00 pm AEDT; 5:00 pm NZDT

CLICK HERE to register!